what to expect from Chang International Circuit this weekend

Posted on

Marquez has scored points in all but two races this season, and ominously in every one of those he has finished on the podium. His last finish outside of the points was at Mugello eight races ago when he crashed and remounted to finish in 16th, one place outside of the points. Dovizioso meanwhile with four consecutive top three finishes is currently enjoying his longest  run of podiums since moving to the MotoGP class. By contrast Yamaha have had no rider finish in the top three in the last four races. Not only are they now suffering their longest winless run in the class, this is the longest sequence without a podium finish since 2007.

This weekend should see British rider Bradley Smith make his 100th start in the MotoGP class, making him only the fifth British rider in grand prix racing after Cal Crutchlow, Jeremy Williams , Ron Haslam, and Nial MacKenzie to reach that milestone. He is however the youngest of the five to reach 100 race starts. Crutchlow meanwhile sits sixth in the championship, but after crashing out in Aragon he is now level on points with seventh placed Danilo Petrucco, and only seven ahead of Zarco.

  1. Marc Marquez, Honda (246 points)
  2. Andrea Dovizioso, Ducati (174)
  3. Valentino Rossi, Yamaha (159)
  4. Jorge Lorenzo, Ducati (130)
  5. Maverick Viñales, Yamaha (130)
  6. Cal Crutchlow, Honda (119)

Francesco Bagnaia extended his lead over Miguel Oliveira in the Moto2 title stamdings thanks to a second place finish in Aragon. Oliveira came home seventh, conceding 11 points to his rival. The race in Aragon was won by Brad Binder, his second win of the season. Binder, Oliveira with two and Bagnaia with six are the only riders to win more than one race in 2018.

  1. Francesco Bagnaia, Kalex (234 points)
  2. Miguel Oliveira, KTM (215)
  3. Brad Binder, KTM (144)
  4. Lorenzo Baldassarri, Kalex (132)
  5. Alex Marquez, Kalex (126)
  6. Joan Mir, Kalex (124)

In the Moto3 class Jorge Martin maintained his lead with victory in Aragon, his sixth of the season. Marco Bezzecchi maintained the pressure on Martin coming home in second, leaving Martin’s lead over Bezzecchi now at 13 points. Both riders will be pleased with their performances in Aragon. Martin started from pole position and then dominated the race, winning by almost six seconds. The winning margin though doesn’t tell the whole story, as Bezzecchi recovered from a penalty that placed him 15th on the starting grid.

  1. Jorge Martin, Honda (191 points)
  2. Marco Bezzecchi, KTM (178)
  3. Fabio Di Giannantonio, Honda (150)
  4. Enea Bastianini, Honda (133)
  5. Aron Canet, Honda (118)
  6. Gabriel Rodrigo, KTM (97)

Facebook Comments